Chocolate Chip Buttermilk Pancakes

DSC_2085

I live in a house that LOVES pancakes and I have made my fair share…whole wheat vegan, dairy free blueberry, banana, peanut butter and jelly, and my most popular, the copycat IHOP pancake! Yesterday morning I was trying to figure out what I wanted to bake next from Sally’s Baking and Candy Addiction cookbooks and I also wanted to make my husband breakfast. Sally just so happened to have a recipe for buttermilk pancakes and it was super easy! Since these were for my husband, I did not substitute any ingredients for a dairy free option. But really, why would I for “buttermilk” pancakes…that would be a sin against pancakes! These came out really great and were very moist. My husband and I are still a huge fan of the copycat IHOP pancake recipe. I’ve been using that for several years and it’s been a hard one to beat. 🙂 Try all of them, they are delicious!

Makes: 10-12 pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 6 tbsp butter, plus more for greasing
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/4 sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips (or blueberries if you like)

DSC_2091

Directions:

  1. Melt butter in a small bowl and allow to cool
  2. Whisk the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together in medium bowl. Set aside.
  3. Whisk the eggs until beaten, then whisk in buttermilk and melted butter. Whisk in the dry ingredients until just combined. (A few lumps is okay, batter will be thick)

IMG_1851

4. Melt a little butter in a large skillet or griddle over medium heat. Spoon 1/3 cup of batter in to pan or griddle and repeat with 2-3 more pancakes depending on the size of your pan. Dot several chocolate chips on the top of each pancake (the amount id up to you). Cook the pancakes until bubbles rise to surface, about 2 minutes. Carefully flip the pancakes and cook another 2 minutes. Butter the pan before each batch of remaining pancakes.

5. Transfer pancakes to a large plate and cover tightly to keep warm as you prepare the remaining pancakes.

DSC_2089

Recipe by Sally’s Baking Addiction

 

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Buttermilk Pancakes

Leave a comment