Brown Sugar Marble Pound Cake

DSC_2074

I’m baking my way through two of my favorite cookbooks, Sally’s Baking Addiction and Sally’s Candy Addiction by picking several recipes from each chapter. The first recipe I picked is from the Cakes, Pies, and Crisps chapter. I substituted the cow’s milk for unsweetened regular Almond milk since can’t have dairy. I won’t be able to do this with all of her recipes I bake, but I will try. For this one, it turned out pretty good. I will note that the directions say to bake for up to 1 hour and 10 minutes. I baked mine right at 55 minutes and next time I will bake at 50 minutes because it was a tad dry. I’m sure cow’s milk would add extra moisture so if that’s an option for you than go for it! Overall, the flavor good but a little dry. Let me know if you try it! 🙂

Makes: 1 pound cake

Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup milk (I used almond milk)
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • seeds from 1/2 vanilla bean
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

Directions:

1.Adjust oven rack to the lower third position and preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray 9X5 in loaf pan with non-stick spray and set aside.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk eggs, sugar, and brown sugar until combined. Whisk in milk, vanilla, and vanilla beans. Set aside.

3. In a large bowl, toss together flour, baking powder, and salt. Pour wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and whisk until just combined. Do not overmix.

4. Remove 1 cup of the batter and pour into a small bowl, stir in the cocoa powder.

DSC_2063Pour one-third of the vanilla batter into the prepared loaf pan. Spoon one-third of the chocolate batter on top. Repeat until both batters are gone. Gently swirl a large knife through the batter, making rounded horizontal zig-zags from one side to the other. Wipe the excess batter from the knife. Repeat the swirling pattern in the opposite direction.

DSC_20695. Bake for 1 hour to 1 hour and 10 minutes (I baked to 55 minutes), making sure to loosely cover with foil after 30 minutes to prevent getting too brown. The loaf is done when toothpick is inserted and comes out clean from center with a few crumbs. Remove from oven and allow the cake to cool completely in the pan set on a wire rack before removing and slicing. The cake will stay fresh, covered, at room temperature for up to 4 days.

DSC_2070

 Recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction Cookbook

 

One thought on “Brown Sugar Marble Pound Cake

Leave a Reply

