Repurposed Stenciled Canvas

FullSizeRender[3]I’ve been staring at the same ugly piece of art above my tv for two years. When I first bought it, I thought it was okay but it was mainly to fill the large space. Finally, I couldn’t take looking at something so hideous any longer and I decided instead of replacing it, I would repurpose it into something better. I did not take the best picture but it turned out great and I hope you get the idea of what I was going for in case you want to recreate something similar. The Martha Stewart stencils and brushes worked perfect and I would highly recommend them!

Tools Needed

Canvases (repurpose or new)

Paint (I used 3 different colors)

Stencils brushes

Stencils

Painters tape

Rust-Oleum Spray Paint (if painting over existing project)

Directions

1. Using Rust-Oleum spray paint, spray two coats of paint, letting each coat dry completely. Let it dry for at least 12 hours.

4

2. Paint each canvas alternating colors using your 3 different paint colors as shown below. Paint two coats and let dry for at least 12-24 hours.

5

3. Position your stencil on the canvas and secure the edges with painters tape. Pour a small amount of paint into a bowl and dab your brush. Using a paper towel, dab off a thin layer of excess paint. Paint all areas of one color on the stencil before moving on to the next.  While paint is still wet, carefully peel stencil off. Continue painting areas of the stencil according to your design. Let the paint dry completely before placing another stencil (or color) over it.

FullSizeRender[2]

 

 

4 thoughts on “Repurposed Stenciled Canvas

Leave a Reply

