Whole Wheat Vegan Pancakes

FullSizeRender[4] (3)Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day but most mornings I don’t have time to make a nice breakfast and sit down to enjoy it. I’m sure I could if I set my alarm a few minutes early and got my lazy ass out of bed but that’s not likely to happen on a work day. But on the weekend, I love to make a big breakfast with all the fixins’ like pancakes, eggs, bacon and maybe throw in some cinnamon rolls. I was super excited when I came across a recipe for a simple vegan pancakes. I mainly just care that it’s dairy free but it never hurts to be extra healthy every once in a while. ๐Ÿ˜‰ These took 5 minutes to throw together and 3 minutes to eat! Hope you enjoy.

FullSizeRender[2] (4)Ingredients

1 cup Whole Wheat flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
ยผ teaspoon salt
1 cup almond milk
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

1. In a mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt. In a 2-cup liquid measuring cup whisk together the almond milk, oil, maple syrup, and vanilla extract until well blended.
2. Pour the liquid mixture into the dry mixture. Stir until combined but don’t over-mix. At this point, fold in any extras such as blueberries if you like. Let the batter rest for 5 minutes so your pancakes will be nice and fluffy.
3. Heat a griddle or skillet to medium heat. Lightly spray with non stick spray if needed. Use a 1/4 measuring cup and pour batter on skillet. Cook 2-3 minutes or until bubbles begin to form on the surface. Flip and cook the opposite side for 1-2 minutes or until golden brown.

 

3 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Vegan Pancakes

  1. I’m exactly the same way with breakfast…love it, but the good stuff really only happens on the weekends! We usually do something savory on Saturday and something sweet on Sunday!

Leave a Reply

