Southern Style Sweet Cornbread

FullSizeRender[4]I love cornbread, correction….I love southern sweet cornbread. There’s a big difference when it comes to southern style baking. Everything seems to taste better in the south and it’s probably because we use more butter and more sugar in the recipes. I live in the Midwest now and they have “sweet tea” here. They need to add another 1/2 pound of sugar before they can dare call this watered down sugar the real “sweet tea”. It’s hard to come across good southern food unless you make it yourself. So, I was excited when I came across a recipe for southern style cornbread and it reminded me of what my Grandmother used to make when I was a kid. It’s sweet, sticky, and even better the next day. I love to drizzle honey on top and have it for dessert…yummy!!

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups finely ground yellow corn meal
  • 2/3 all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk, shaken
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 cup canned cream-style corn
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F and place a 10 inch skillet in the oven as it heats.

2. Combine the cornmeal, flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a mixing bowl and whisk well.

3. In another bowl combine the buttermilk, butter, eggs, and corn and whisk well.

4. Add the flour mixture to the buttermilk mixture and stir until well combined.

5. Remove the hot skillet from the oven, add the oil, and tilt the pan around to coat it evenly. Add the batter to the skillet, spreading it evenly. Bake for 18-20 or until a toothpick comes out clean from the center. Allow to cool for 5 minutes, slice and serve warm.

Recipe from The New Cast Iron Skillet Cookbook by Ellen Brown

 

6 thoughts on “Southern Style Sweet Cornbread

      1. When I was in North Carolina, my host brought cornbread and soup. It was my first time eating it, and I’ve tried other cornbreads but I could never find one that tasted just like that one.

Leave a Reply

