Anything but Boring Pumpkin Bread (GF, DF)

IMG_6342This time of year is my favorite time to bake because everything has pumpkin in it. You can’t go to any grocery store, bakery, or restaurant without some sort of pumpkin flavored food screaming for your attention. Pumpkin cookies, pumpkin cheesecake, pumpkin donuts, pumpkin muffins….pumpkin, pumpkin, PUMPKIN! I love it but I must admit, I loved it much more last year when I was able to eat all of it. This year it’s a bit of a bummer that everything has gluten and dairy in it. Don’t get me wrong, if you catch me on a weak day I might have a couple of lactose pills in one hand and a pint of Ben and Jerry’s pumpkin cheesecake ice cream in the other. I will feel like total hell for the rest of the night and the next day but that 30 minutes of pure heaven was worth it.

For the rest of the time that I decide to stay on track, I made this delicious pumpkin bread that tastes exactly like the kind full of gluten I’ve made in the past. I was so surprised by exactly how much it tastes the same. It’s so soft and full of yummy pumpkin flavor. My husband couldn’t tell a difference and loved it so much! He told me I wasn’t allowed to share this loaf with anyone because it was too good to leave the house. Perhaps a little selfish but a great compliment and I’ll take it! My stomach does not react well to xantham gum (it’s actually pretty nasty stuff if you read about it) so I use gelatin instead when baking with gluten free flour. I use 1/2 teaspoon for every 2 cups flour. It makes everything nice and fluffy as you can tell from the bread and it turned out beautiful. I’m so happy with the Betty Crocker flour also, it hasn’t failed me yet. I hope you enjoy this bread during the holidays this year 🙂

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs, lightly bean
12 oz  canned unsweetened pumpkin (or 3/4 of a 16oz can)
1 3/4 cups Betty Crocker AP GF Rice Flour Blend Flour
1/2 teaspoon gelatin
1 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon pumpkin spice
5 Tablespoons water
IMG_6337

IMG_6336

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Spray one 9×5 loaf pan with gluten free non stick spray (such as olive oil spray).
3. Stir together sugar and oil. Stir in eggs and pumpkin.
4. Add gelatin, stir and let sit for 5 minutes.
5. While the gelatin in is sitting, combine dry ingredients in separate bowl. Blend dry ingredients and water into wet mixture, alternating.6. Pour batter into loaf pan and bake for 40-50 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean from center. Let stand 10 minutes.

6 thoughts on “Anything but Boring Pumpkin Bread (GF, DF)

  1. Glad you found a way to still enjoy pumpkin! It looks super moist and if you hadn’t said there wasn’t gluten or dairy in it, I probably wouldn’t be able to tell the difference just by looking at it.

Leave a Reply

