Dairy Free Banana Bars

photo 5I go in phases where I will eat a banana everyday, sometimes two in a day. They’re so simple to take with you for breakfast or a snack. However, last month I was in a banana hating phase. After a while of eating this easy, on-the-go fruit day after day I just can’t peel another mushy banana for breakfast. One day I passed by the huge mound of yellow fruit in the grocery store and I looked at them with a little bit of disgust and just keep walkin’…no more bananas! But, as with most of my phases, this one passed and I’m back to my banana loving phase. Which brings us to this delicious dairy free recipe. I had my doubts about these banana bars when I was making the batter because it seemed a little too easy and too healthy. But I was so shocked when I tasted them because they’re super delicious. They have just the right amount of sweetness and banana flavor mixed together. Who is ready for yummy pumpkin fall desserts? I am, it’s my favorite time of the year!

Ingredients:
  • 1-1/4 Cups Old Fashioned Oats
  • ¼ Cup Honey
  • 2 Tablespoons coconut oil, softened
  • 1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • ¼ Cup Flour (your choice of flour, I used white)
  • ½ Teaspoon Baking Soda
  • ¼ Teaspoon Salt
  • 1 Egg, brought to room temperature
  • 1 Cup Mashed, Ripe Banana (about 3 small or 2 large)
 photo 1
Instructions:
1. Preheat your oven to 350ºF and grease an 8 x 8 baking dish.
2. In a medium mixing bowl, combine the oats, honey, oil, and vanilla and set aside.
3. In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt and set aside.
4. Mix the the egg, banana, and coconut into the oat mixture until everything is well combined.
5. Stir in the flour mixture until well combined.
6. Spread evenly in your greased baking dish and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cool and cut in squares.
photo 4
Recipe adapted from godairyfree.com

6 thoughts on “Dairy Free Banana Bars

Leave a Reply

