Parmesan Zucchini Chicken Pasta

photo 4Tri-color pasta is one of my favorite pastas…or should I say was before I found out it has milk ingredients in it. I started making this delicious meal and was super excited about it….until I started to wonder about the dairy ingredients in the noodles. Sure enough the box said those two dreaded words: “contains milk”…damn! I’m still a newbie when it comes to cooking dairy free so each day is a learning experience. Today I was learning I was not going to be able to eat my delicious dinner. Well, the meal was almost complete so someone might as well enjoy this yummy dinner. So, I added Parmesan cheese to please my husband and it was still a healthy, tasty meal. He was completely happy eating my wonderful pasta and I went on to cook a second dairy free meal for myself. Luckily, I have since found a tri-colored veggie pasta that is really delicious so all is right in the world again 🙂

Ingredients:

2 cups uncooked tri-colored pasta

2 chicken breasts, cooked

1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes

3 tablespoons Parmesan cheese

1/2 zucchini, sliced

2 cups spinach

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 teaspoons minced garlic

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Cook pasta according to directions on box. While pasta is cooking, add red pepper flakes.

2. In a medium skillet, heat olive oil and minced garlic for 1 minute. Add spinach and toss and coat in the oil. Cook until wilted, about 3-5 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside in a small bowl.

3. Add chicken and zucchini to skillet, sprinkle with salt and pepper and cook for 5-8 minutes.

4. Add pasta, spinach, and cheese to skillet and mix together. Heat in skillet for about 2 minutes.

© Sweets Eats and Crafts All images and content are copy right protected. Please do not use images or content without permission. Please cite if borrowed.

2 thoughts on “Parmesan Zucchini Chicken Pasta

  1. Looks delish! Have you thought about taking lactose pills so you can still enjoy dairy? My husband is severely lactose intolerant and he buys lactaid pills at the drug store. He takes one before a meal with dairy in it and has absolutely no problem digesting it as a result! It’s pretty awesome!

Leave a Reply

