Blueberry and Peach Skillet Cobbler

photo 2 (5)

The other day I had a craving for a blueberry and peach cobbler which is odd for me considering I’ve never been a fan of mushy fruit. Until a few weeks ago, I had never eaten a natural peach that was not out of a can. (gasp!) When I was a kid, I didn’t like the way fruit looked and thought it was strange that you had to peel the skin off. Well, I had no idea what I was missing because they are truly delightful. I didn’t like cobblers or pies either because I didn’t like “manipulated” fruit. That’s fruit that has been made mushy! Again, I had no idea what I was missing. I still don’t like mushy food but ever since I have made this cobbler and Apple Crisp, I can get past the manipulated fruit thing.

My blueberry and peach cobbler was sensational and one of the best desserts I have made in my cast iron skillet so far. I think I have fallen in love with my mini cast iron skillet It makes the most tempting and decedent desserts in one perfectly sized pan. I received it for a Christmas present and since then I have made some scrumptious desserts which include my Apple Crisp, Peanut Butter Cookie Sundae, and a divine Chocolate Chip Cookie Sundae. I only see more yummy desserts in the future for my cast iron skillet and many will include manipulated fruit. 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 stick of unsalted butter, melted (and a little extra not melted to grease skillet)
  • 1/2 cup of all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 large peach
  • 3/4 cups blueberries

photo 2 (6)

photo 1 (6)

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Coat skillet with butter.

photo 4 (4)

2. In a large bowl combine butter with sugar, flour, vanilla, salt, and baking powder.

photo 3 (4)

3. Press this mixture into the skillet, making sure to press against the sides.

photo 5 (4)

4. Peel the peach, remove the pit and slice.

5. Place the sliced peaches and blueberries on top of the mixture in the skillet.

photo 1 (5)

6. Bake for 35-40 minutes, or until the crust begins to brown and pull away from the sides of the skillet.

photo 4 (3)

photo 5 (3)

All gone!

© Sweets Eats and Crafts All images and content are copy right protected. Please do not use images or content without permission. Please cite if borrowed.

6 thoughts on “Blueberry and Peach Skillet Cobbler

Leave a Reply

