Cooking A-Z: Z is for Zucchini Muffins

photo 2 (4)

We’ve come to the end of an era people!…..Okay not really but I have reached my final letter and it’s bittersweet. Some letters were a little difficult, especially the letter X but I had so much fun completing my A-Z cooking adventure. I know my husband and his belly had a great time too! Their favorites were the Blueberry Scones, Devil’s Food Cake, Key Lime Pie Bars, and the Yogurt Cake. The Yogurt Cake disappeared in two days…now that’s a toe curling, melt in your mouth, don’t talk to me while I’m eating good cake! While it is hard for me to pick just one because I am a little biased, I think I will say that my favorite was the Tiramisu Cupcakes. They resembled the true flavor of a Tiramisu cake in a cute cupcake which I absolutely love! They quickly become my new favorite cupcake.

My only experience with zucchini has been eating it fried and in salads which I’ve enjoyed both. I decided to make zucchini muffins because I have heard great things about baking zuchccini into breads and muffins. I found the recipe at food.com, I had to cut the recipe down because I wasn’t cooking for an army this morning. However, if you are, I put the original recipe below. (It’s only 24 muffins but that’s a lot when only two people are eating muffins 🙂 ).

It’s a very subtle, sweet flavor. Since it’s so subtle it made for a great muffin. I made a huge Saturday morning breakfast today and these muffins fit in nicely. They have a great cinnamon sweet flavor and the crunch of the walnuts gives a great texture. This is the perfect way to sneak in some veggies for your kids 🙂 I hope you enjoy these muffins and all of my other A-Z recipes!

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup oil
  • 1 2/3 cups sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 cups zucchini, grated
  • 3 cups flour, sifted
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

photo 1

Directions:

1. Beat the eggs until they are light and foamy.2. Add the sugar, oil and zucchini.
photo 2
3. Blend well with a spoon.
photo 34. Mix the dry ingredients and add to the egg mixture; blend well.
5. Add the nuts, mix well.
photo 4 (2)
6. Use a scoop and fill greased muffin pan 3/4 full.
photo 5 (5)
photo 1 (4)
7. Bake at 325°F for 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.
© Sweets Eats and Crafts All images and content are copy right protected. Please do not use images or content without permission. Please cite if borrowed.

7 thoughts on “Cooking A-Z: Z is for Zucchini Muffins

Leave a Reply

