Cooking A-Z: U is for Pineapple Upside Down Cake

photo 5

These last few letters are going to be a bit tricky. I’m really not sure what I’m going to make for X and I’ve been dreading it since day one. But I’ve had so much fun with every recipe so far. I’ve never made an upside down cake before and I think it turned out beautiful and so full of flavor! I found this recipe on Sally’s Baking Addiction and of course she never disappoints. I was outside gardening while this was baking and when I came back inside the smell was intoxicating! I couldn’t wait to flip it over and see what it looked like. It was in perfect condition, thank goodness or I might have shed a few tears. Once the cake cools, the flavors really set it and it is extremely moist and addicting. I’m giving you and your jeans a fair warning right now 🙂 Enjoy!

photo 2

Ingredients:

Topping

  • 1/4 cup (60g) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup (100g) light brown sugar
  • sliced pineapple (6 canned slices or use fresh)
  • 15-20 maraschino cherries

Cake

  • 1 and 2/3 cups all-purpose flour, careful not to over measure
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup  granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg, room temperature preferred
  • 1/4 cup  yogurt
  • 1/2 cup  milk or buttermilk (I used 1% milk)
  • 1/4  cup pineapple juice (reserved from the canned pineapple or use fresh)
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract

photo 1 (2)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350F degrees.

2. Prepare topping first. Place 1/4 cup of melted butter into a 9-inch pie dish or 9×2 inch round cake pan. Sprinkle with 1/2 cup of brown sugar.

photo 2 (2)

3. Top with pineapple slices and arrange cherries between the pineapple slices. See my photo for a visual. Set aside.

photo 4 (2)

4. In a medium bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside. In a large microwave-safe bowl, melt butter in the microwave. Whisk in the sugars vigorously getting out any brown sugar lumps – mixture will be gritty. Whisk in egg, yogurt, milk, pineapple juice, and vanilla extract until combined. Slowly mix in dry ingredients until no lumps remain. Batter will be thick.

photo 3 (2)

5. Pour/spoon batter into prepared pan.

photo 5 (2)

6. Bake for 20 minutes. Cover loosely with aluminum foil (loosely to avoid the top from sticking to the foil). Bake for 20-25 more minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool for 10 minutes.

photo 1

7. Invert cake on top of a cake stand or a large serving plate. Slice and serve warm, room temperature, or even cold. Try serving with vanilla ice cream – it’s a delicious combination. Cover cake and store for up to 3 days in the refrigerator.

photo 3

© Sweets Eats and Crafts All images and content are copy right protected. Please do not use images or content without permission. Please cite if borrowed.

 

22 thoughts on “Cooking A-Z: U is for Pineapple Upside Down Cake

  1. A “xenolith” is “a rock fragment which becomes enveloped in a larger rock during the latter’s development and hardening”
    … So, maybe a “xenolith cake”, with a chocolate cake enveloped in a vanilla one? Or else you could always try to make xenopus pie 😛

      1. My favorite grandmother made them. They were wonderful! … like everything else she cooked, baked, pickled, sewed, grew, harvested ….

  2. Thanks for visiting my Fluffernutter Bars! I, too, love Sally, and this is one of the recipes I have on my “baking conquest list.” Sounds like something I should be attempting this summer! I look forward to following you 🙂

Leave a Reply

