Cooking A-Z: M is for Meatloaf

photo 5

I wanted to find a great Meatloaf recipe to show this is a yummy dinner and too often dismissed. I searched high and low for an awesome recipe with terrific reviews and I found the perfect one from food.com. I’m glad it turned out so well because that would have been a huge fail on about 1,ooo reviewers! It’s simple yet very, very tasty. The sauce on top is the perfect amount of tangy and sweet. There is nothing blah about this meatloaf…think twice before you brush off this recipe, it’s a must try! I’ve made meatloaf once before and it was pretty good…but this one is far superior πŸ™‚ I know you will love it, hope you enjoy πŸ™‚

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 lbs ground beef ( ground shoulder roast is good)
  • 1 slice bread ( broken or chopped finely)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 small vidalia onions or 1 small type sweet onion, finely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon table salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 4 tablespoons ketchup
  • 1/2-2/3 cup whole milk or 1/2-2/3 cup half-and-half

Sauce Ingredients:

  • 4 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 2 -4 tablespoons dark brown sugar, packed firm ( to taste)
  • 1/2 cup ketchup

photo 1

Directions:

1. Meatloaf: Combine meat loaf ingredients and place into a loaf baking dish.photo 22. Smooth out top.
3. Sauce: Combine sauce ingredients and pour on top and sides of meatloaf.

photo 3
4. Bake at 350Β°F about 1 hour to 1 hour 15 minutes or until done.
5. ENJOY!

Β© Sweets Eats and Crafts All images and content are copy right protected. Please do not use images or content without permission. Please cite if borrowed.

8 thoughts on “Cooking A-Z: M is for Meatloaf

  1. So interesting! There’s milk in it!! I’ll have to try this sometime πŸ™‚ Usually I make a turkey meatloaf with lots of veggies inside, but you’ve made me quite curious about this one!

  2. I always used milk in my meatloaf and I actually was surprised to meet people that had never heard of it. Looks great!

  3. Thanks for this! I just made a meatloaf about two weeks ago, and it was the same old boring thing. It fell apart as I was trying to slice it… Your meatloaf looks fabulous! I’ll be trying it very soon… I know my husband will love it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

