Cooking A-Z: E is for Egg Rolls

photo 2 (5)

I decided to make a savory item for “E” since I have been overloading everyone with sweets and it turned out great! I had a snow day earlier this week and wanted to make these.  I had most of the ingredients I needed already at home but had make a trip for a few items which included the egg roll wrappers. I will save you a ton of time and tell you the grocery store hides them with the refrigerated vegetables next to the tofu items….they are not in the foreign food aisle, frozen vegetable asile, or any frozen or non frozen aisle for that matter!  🙂 I had to look up a picture of the package and 15 minutes later after I thoroughly inspected the grocery store, I found them! For the egg rolls, I found the recipe at Taste of Home.com. These were much easier than I thought and I’m looking forward to making other types of egg rolls. I can’t wait to try dessert egg rolls, breakfast egg rolls, Mexican egg rolls, the list just goes on and on! I hope you enjoy as much as I did 🙂 Ingredients:

* I used cabbage instead of bean sprouts and I left out the green pepper.

  • 2 cups grated carrots
  • 1 can (14 ounces) bean sprouts, drained
  • 1/2 cup chopped water chestnuts
  • 1/4 cup chopped green pepper
  • 1/4 cup chopped green onions
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 2 cups finely diced cooked chicken
  • 4 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 1 tablespoon light soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon canola oil
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar
  • Pinch cayenne pepper
  • 16 egg roll wrappers

photo 1

Directions:

1. Coat a large skillet with cooking spray; add the first six ingredients. Cook and stir over medium heat until vegetable are crisp-tender, about 3 minutes. Add chicken; heat through.

photo 22.  In a small bowl, combine the cornstarch, water, soy sauce, oil, brown sugar and cayenne until smooth; stir into chicken mixture. Bring to a boil. Cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened; remove from the heat.

3. Lay the egg roll wrapper out like a diamond. Spoon 1/4 cup chicken mixture onto the egg roll wrapper. Fold the south corner straight up, partially covering the filling. Bring in the side corners to the center. Tuck the filling into the pocket you just created. Place seam side down on a baking sheet and brush each roll with a light coat of olive oil.

PicMonkey Collage

photo 1 (6)

4. Bake at 425° for 10-15 minutes or until lightly browned.

Untitled

9 thoughts on “Cooking A-Z: E is for Egg Rolls

  1. I will definitely give this a try! It looks so delicious. We have a snow day here, as well. So, I will have to wait until tomorrow to grab those ingredients at the market :p. Thanks for posting! And the hunger hahaha

  2. I love, love, love eggs rolls! This looks really good. I love you blog! I am totally the same way. I spend almost all of my money on crafts. BTW: Thanks for liking my cinnamon rolls post. Happy baking and crafting!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

