Cooking A-Z: D is for Devil’s Food Cake

devils food cake

I’m not a huge chocolate or cake fan, don’t get me wrong, I have a huge sweet tooth but it’s normally for things like cheesecake and ice cream…yum! I have pumpkin cheesecake ice cream in the freezer right now! It’s the best ice cream I’ve ever had….oh yeah back to the delicious cake πŸ™‚ After I made this Devil’s Food Cake, I had several pieces because it was that good and I craved a piece of this wonderful cake! My husband begged me to take the rest to work so he wouldn’t polish the entire thing off. So I did and my co-workers ate the entire cake! Should we mention my beautiful frosting job? I think it’s pretty fantastic πŸ™‚ I hope you enjoy this delicious cake!photo 1 (5)

photo 2 (5)I found the cake and frosting recipe on food.com, the frosting is not from the same recipe listed with the cake.

Cake Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup hot coffee
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Frosting Ingredients:

6 tablespoons butter, softened
2 2/3 cups confectioners’ sugar
1/2 cup cocoa
1/3 cup milk
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
photo 1

Cake Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 325Β°F.
2. In a large mixing bowl, sift together dry ingredients.
photo 2 (2)
3. Add oil, coffee and milk and mix at medium speed for 2 minutes. Add eggs and vanilla and beat 2 more minutes. Expect batter to be thin.
photo 3 (3)
4. Pour into a 9″ x 13″ greased and floured pan or 2- 9″ round pans. Bake 9 x 13 pan for about 45 minutes or 9″ pans for about 30 minutes. Cool in pans for about 15 minutes and then cool completely on racks.
photo 2 (3)
5. While cake is cooling make the frosting. Place butter in a bowl and beat until creamy. Add sugar and cocoa, mixing well. Stir in milk in portions, stirring each time. Add vanilla. Spread on cooled cake or other items needing frosting.
photo 5
photo 1 (2)

6. Frost the cake as you wish. I used the petal technique. It’s very easy, just a little time consuming. Frost the entire cake with one layer, I used strawberry in the middle to give a Valentine’s Day look.
photo 3 (4)
photo 4 (3)
7. Using a piping bag, make vertical dots, place the off-set spatula in the middle of the dot, press down and drag. Complete this around the entire cake and the top. Take lots of pictures to enjoy and then dig in πŸ™‚
photo 5 (2)
photo 1 (4)
photo 2 (4)
Untitled

26 thoughts on “Cooking A-Z: D is for Devil’s Food Cake

  1. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Many thanks, However I
    am going through troubles with your RSS. I don’t understand why
    I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anybody else getting identical RSS problems?
    Anyone who knows the answer will you kindly respond?
    Thanx!!

Leave a Reply

