Cooking A-Z: A is for Apple Crisp

photo 4 (4)

I have decided to start a new blogging project and make recipes starting from A to Z. This will give me an opportunity to learn and share new recipes! Hopefully I will be able to obtain many new skills along the way. I have no idea how this will turn out…I may have some absolutely brilliant recipes that come from this or they could all be epic fails. Either way, I think it will be an experience worth trying. My first recipe is an Apple Crisp in my brand new cast iron skillet. I’ve always been intimidated by pies, cobblers, etc because I thought they were extremely complicated. However, when making a cobbler in a cast iron skillet, it’s fairly simple and you can dig in right after. I hope you enjoy my first letter! 🙂

*This recipe is from AllRecipes.com. I used an iron skillet instead of a baking dish and used Granny Smith apples. I also cut my recipe in half to fit my skillet but if you have a regular size skillet this recipe would work fine.

photo 3 (4)
Ingredients:

photo 2 (4)

  • 6 apples – peeled, cored, and sliced
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup cold butter

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Coat skillet with butter.

2. Toss apples with white sugar and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon in a medium bowl to coat; pour into a 9-inch square baking dish. (I have a mini skillet but you can use any size).

photo 1 (4)

photo 3 (5)

photo 4 (5)

3. Mix brown sugar, oats, flour, and 1 teaspoon cinnamon in a separate bowl. Use a pastry cutter or 2 forks to mash cold butter into the oats mixture until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs; spread over the apples to the edges of the baking dish. Pat the topping gently until even.

photo 2 (3)

 

4. Bake in preheated oven until golden brown and sides are bubbling, about 40 minutes. Serve warm!

 

photo 5 (2)

Untitled

4 thoughts on “Cooking A-Z: A is for Apple Crisp

  1. looks great! I’m curious as to what you will do when you get to “X” …you might have to venture into chinese food if you don’t want ‘xanthan gum’ in your title 😛

Leave a Reply

